The Champagne Concert will take place on Friday, 25th October 2019. The concert will star a piano trio (piano, cello and violin) and will take place in the Senior Library and there will be an optional supper taking place beforehand, as well as a champagne interlude during the concert itself.

The Performers

Armand D’Angour (cello) studied cello and piano at the Royal College of Music before reading Greats at Oxford, where he is now Associate Professor in Classics and Fellow and Tutor at Jesus College (since 2000). He is currently conducting a research project to reconstruct the sounds and effects of ancient Greek music. As a cellist he plays recitals regularly in London and Oxford, mainly with the London Brahms Trio and pianist Kobi Kremnitzer.

Whilst reading Mathematics at Tel-Aviv University, Kobi Kremnitzer (piano) pursued his piano studies at the Music Academy in Tel-Aviv, where he performed in many mostly chamber music concerts. A post-doctorate at MIT was followed by an assistant professorship at the University of Chicago, prior to his arrival in 2009 to the faculty of the Mathematical Institute in Oxford, and as Tutorial Fellow in Mathematics at Oriel. Since then he has given chamber music concerts in Jesus College and St. Anthony’s and previous Champagne Concerts in Oriel.

Erika Eisele (violin) studied at the Royal Academy of Music for her Undergraduate and Postgraduate diplomas under the tutelage of Lydia Modkovitch and Ivor Petroshevski. Following graduation, she joined Southbank Sinfonia and freelanced with many of London’s professional orchestras, performing across the UK and internationally touring America, China, Europe and Scandinavia. Erika retrained as a teacher in 2012 and has recently become a Headteacher of a 2 form entry primary school in South East London, and still plays professionally in chamber orchestras and as part of the London Brahms Trio.

The Music

Trio Op.50  – Tchaikovsky (1840-1893)

I. Pezzo elegiaco (Moderato assai – Allegro giusto)

II. (A) Tema (con variazioni): Andante con moto

Var I
Var II: Più mosso
Var III: Allegro moderato
Var IV: L’istesso tempo (Allegro moderato)
Var V: L’istesso tempo
Var VI: Tempo di Valse
Var VII: Allegro moderato
Var VIII: Fuga (Allegro moderato)
Var IX: Andante flebile, ma non tanto
Var X: Tempo di mazurka
Var XI: Moderato

(B) Variazione finale  (Allegro risoluto e con fuoco) e coda (Lugubre (L’istesso tempo))

Elegiac Trio No.2 in d minor – Rachmaninov (1873 –1943)

I          Moderato
II        Quasi variazione
III       Allegro risoluto


The details of the concert are as follows:

Date: Friday, 25th October 2019

Times: Supper (if booked) 7pm, Concert 8:15pm

If you have any questions about the event, please email

The personal data you provide on this form will be used to fulfill Oriel College’s contractual obligation to you as an event registrant, and to meet our legitimate interests of alumni and supporter engagement, fundraising and stewardship. You can opt out of communications at any time by contacting For more on how we treat your information, including your rights, please visit:

Development and Alumni Engagement Office, Oriel College, Oxford, OX4 1EW

Book event